Personal Statement for University of Wisconsin Biomedical Data Science

TOEFL, IELTS, Personal Statement and CV Proofreading Services. Personal Statement with samples Personal Statement for University of Wisconsin Biomedical Data Science

• nerrix
    University: University of Wisconsin - Madison
    Nationality: United States
    November 11, 2019 at 1:55 am

Personal Statement for University of Wisconsin Biomedical Data Science

My primary research interest is in statistical genomics, and my goal is to work in academia as a noted biostatistician who can efficiently solve questions arisen from the field of genomics. I am currently studying statistics at the University of Wisconsin – Madison, and I involved in a research project developing a statistical model to gain an in-depth understanding of bulk cell RNA sequencing data. What’s more, I worked on several newly-generated data and obtained some impressive results from them. All those projects have opened my eyes to a broad range of research in not only statistical genomics but also many statistical problems that I didn’t realize. They motivated me to undertake further study through a Ph.D. program.

Under the supervision of Professor Sunduz Keles, I conducted research that tries to estimate the cell proportion functions in bulk RNA sequencing data using single-cell RNA sequencing data, functional data analysis, and non-negative least squares. In detail, I developed a regression model with positivity constraints on the cell proportion functions for different cell types along the inherent trajectory. The result outperformed most methods and brought about some brand new information, and this method will be submitted to Genome Biology. Also, along with Dr. Daniel Conn, we worked on several single-cell data from Dr. Emery Bresnick’s lab to gain insight into the hematopoiesis system.