Personal statement for applying to Berkeley extension

TOEFL, IELTS, Personal Statement and CV Proofreading Services. Personal Statement with samples Personal statement for applying to Berkeley extension

• LittleKimber
    University: Beijing Forestey University
    Nationality: 中国
    October 15, 2021 at 11:07 am

When I was in high school, my father visited my uncle who lived in California. After he returned, he told me about his experience there. What left me the deepest impression was his visit to Berkeley. Through his narration, a picturesque imagination came into my mind. The church, drawing building, library, stadium, so on, all of these fascinate me. Fortunately, I got to know the opportunity of studying at Berkeley, applying to the Berkeley Global Access program. After talking with my parents and weighing the pros and cons, I decide to do it.  

I’m a student who majors in mathematics and applied mathematics. After entering university, I had the chance to study both math and computer science courses due to the specialty of my major. In the second semester, our department open an elective course named C++ Programming Language. The professor who teaches this course is nice. It was him who lead me to get interested in C++ Programming Language, then I learned python by myself. Because interest and dedication of the computer science courses, I got 98 in C++ Programming Language, and 96 in Java Development and Practice, which can prove my aspiration to study in this field.  Also, I learn python by myself in my spare time and help solve a practical problem of my professor who teaches me operational research, which leaves an impression on her. One day she asked if I was interested in doing an internship in data mining using python, and I said yes. Those experience enable to find a path on computer science, and I have to say there is a strong passion to learn it deeply, which solidify my willingness to study in Berkeley for its great academic achievement and enormo